Best Student Conference Paper

Best student NZES Conference Paper

The society makes an annual award to the student who is judged to have presented the best oral paper at the Society’s annual conference. The award comprises:

• One year’s free membership of the society
• A certificate
• A prize of NZ$750

A second place award may also be presented for NZ$400

All papers (including joint papers) presented solely by students at the main conference are eligible for consideration.

Note: this award does not consider papers presented at the student session of the conference or papers presented by individuals who have been graduates for more than twelve months.

Applications for this award should be emailed directly to [email protected].

Past Recipients: Best Student Conference Paper

1990 Liz Slooten, University of Canterbury.
Stephen Dawson, University of Canterbury.
1991 Mel van Aalst, Auckland University.
Fran Hyland, Victoria University, Wellington.
Chris Lusk, Auckland University.
1992 Janet Wilmshurst, University of Canterbury.
1993 Not presented.
1994 Not presented.
1995 Eric Edwards Otago University, Dunedin.
David Forsyth Lincoln University, Canterbury.
1996 Shona Lamoureaux, University of Canterbury.
1997 Lynette Hartley, Waikato University, Hamilton.
1998 Alison Evans Lincoln University, Canterbury.
Nick Bond, University of Melbourne, Australia.
Paula Peters, Monash University, Australia
1999 Deborah Wilson, University of British Colombia, Canada.
Souzi McGill, Lincoln University, Canterbury
2000 Wade Tozer, Waikato University
2001 Yanbin Deng, University of Auckland.
Angela Moles, Macquarie University, Australia
2002 Yanbin Deng, University of Auckland.
2003 Harshi Gamage, Victoria University.
2004 Priscilla McAllum, University of Waikato.
2005 Michelle Greenwood, University of Canterbury.
2007 Susan Cunningham, Massey University.
2008 Ben Barr, Massey University, Auckland
Second place: Dylan Van Winkel Massey University, Auckland
2010 Josie Galbraith, University of Auckland
Highly commended: Helen Nathan, University of Auckland